It seems like my goals change on a monthly basis.  I’m sitting here early this morning wondering how I will manage to consume 4200 calories every day until I reach my goal.  If my math is correct that’s six meals per day at 700 calories per meal.  Consuming these many calories for any length of time, seems totally impossible.  I do realize that eating this many calories is a gradual process, however, I cannot think of a healthy way to consume them.  How much oatmeal or salad can a person eat in a day?  What about egg whites or plain chicken breasts?  I could do it the lazy way by ordering out and eating a ton of empty, unhealthy calories then pay for it in the gym.  I could also eat high fat chemically laced fast food, but I know that’s counterproductive.  The crux I’m at right now is a classic example of not having a clear cut goal.  Do I really want to build this size?  I’m 204 right now and at 6’2 I look skinny in comparison to others.  (What has motivated this entire thought process is a bodybuilding show coming up).  So, once again I ask myself, “do I really want to get up to 220″  Regardless of what I want, I realize that I have to make a commitment that requires courage, self-discipline, motivation, and complete mental toughness.  

Since I’ve had all day to ponder these thoughts I realized that it is no different when it comes to losing weight for some people, especially when a person doesn’t know if they want to put forth the effort and commitment that losing weight requires.  I also realize that once I gain this size and muscle I will have to lean back down by eating less and participating in some type of aerobic exercise.  Right their is the problem, I literally hate doing any type of aerobic activity for an extended period of time.  For myself, twenty minutes on a treadmill is too long.  I do it now, however, I need to do 40 minutes or more to burn a significant amount of fat.  I guess I’m afraid that if I do gain that much weight (15lbs.) I will not have the motivation to lean back down.  In other words, will I stick to the program. 

It really does take a conscious effort and commitment for people to accomplish their goals.  The easier softer way is my natural response to anything that requires hard work.  Some people may be reading this saying, ” I wish I had the problem of having a hard time consuming 4200 calories”.  I’m not writing this to say “look at me” I am writing this to say “wow, what a commitment and a self-discipline it requires to realize your goals”.  I give credit where credit is due and I honestly don’t know if I had to lose a mere 15 lbs, I could do it.  I know how to do it, however, everything that gaining/losing weight entails, is quite difficult.  I guess what it boils down to is commitment, courage, motivation, self discipline, and mental toughness. 

Champions aren’t made in gyms, champions are made from something they have deep inside them – a desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have last-minute stamina, they have to be a little faster, they have to have the skill and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.- 

                                                                                                                                  Muhammad Ali 

LIFT HARD!  TRAIN HARD!

www.fitnessgenerator.com/mcgheetraining

