What if the taste of food didn’t exist?  Would people clean up their diets and realize that we “eat to live” and we don’t “live to eat”.  I know that sounds somewhat cliche’-ish but it makes sense, food doesn’t have to be eaten for pleasure. 

I think over the past couple of days I just realized how boring it is to sit down to eat, and  how unnecessary it is to engage in the act of overeating of unhealthy foods.  Wouldn’t it be nice if someone could invent some type of device to turn our taste buds off and on.  On the other hand, instead of these expensive and risky surgeries, how about working on an invention to stop us from eating for taste.  Maybe something that would stimulate our pleasure senses in our brains like food does, and since it would hinder our taste buds, we wouldn’t need to eat unhealthy tasty foods.  I don’t know if that makes sense but, there would be less overeating, your stomach would dictate when it’s time to eat instead of your brain saying it’s time, and junk food wouldn’t be an option. 

Since having this septoplasty surgery I haven’t been able to smell or taste anything.  It’s somewhat annoying and I wouldn’t want to spend the rest of my life like this, but right now I could care less about taste of food.  The past couple of days would have been a perfect opportunity to experiment with crappy tasting healthy foods.  Today I sat down to eat chicken breast and a salad and it was like magic, the minute I was satisfied, I stopped eating.  I ate enough to satisfy myself, however, if I had my sense of taste right now, it would’ve been a  whole different story.  Anyway that was just food for thought.  I haven’t wanted to write any informational type posts over the past couple of days, so I thought I’d try something different.  Maybe I’m just recovering from the anesthesia and pain killers they had me on. 

